DFWAE Adopts Formal DEI Statement PDF Print Email
Wednesday, April 07, 2021 09:11 AM

DFWAE Adopts Formal DEI Statement

After months of work, DFWAE's Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Task Force and the Board of Directors have adopted a formal DEI statement on behalf of the organization. This philosophy will become part of DFWAE's core values, and be woven into the future work of the association through strategic planning, policy setting, nominations, and all other critical areas.

The statement reads:

People feel a sense of belonging when differences are embraced and valued. DFWAE is dedicated to nurturing equality by creating spaces for the voices least heard, providing educational opportunities to grow leaders, instilling a greater understanding of diverse and equitable environments; and expanding opportunities to collaborate with one another to ensure DFWAE is reflective of the larger, richer community of association voices. We recognize there is still work to be done and commit to cultivating an atmosphere and culture that is inclusive for all.

The 2020-2021 DEI Task Force members include:

Janet Kane, MetroTex Association of REALTORS (Chair)
Shasta Foy, Society of Petroleum Engineers (Board Liaison)
Doug Laher, American Association for Respiratory Care
Laura Venhaus, American Association of Professional Landmen
Mark Jones, enSYNC Corporation
Eme Augustini, National Association of Dental Plans
Julie Kwane, Promotional Products Association International
Katie Gimenez, Plano Chamber of Commerce
Heather Zrubek, National Association of Episcopal Schools
Riane Gay, American College of Emergency Physicians
Sheena Beaver, Dallas Builders Association
Leona Scott, JEP Marketing Communications
Maurice Norris, Promotional Products Association International