Awards - Wayne James Award

This award is presented annually to the DFWAE member who recruits the most new members to the society. It is named for past president Wayne James who consistently held this title.

Darrin Scheid, CAE (left) accepts the 2019 Wayne James Award from 2018-2019 DFWAE President Kris Williams, CAE (right).

Nomination Process

Nominations will be solicited from the CAE Committee and submitted to the Awards Committee. The Awards Committee Chair is appointed by the President.


To be eligible, an individual must be a Certified Association Executive and current DFWAE member who is employed full-time by an Association, association management company, CVB, or Association Associate Member. The winner is not currently serving on the CAE Committee.

DFWAE Wayne James Award Winners

2020 Darrin Schied, CAE, Shawna Strickland, PhD, CAE, Shasta Foy CAE
2019 Darrin Scheid, CAE